De los Charcones Square, Navalcarnero, Madrid, Spain

De los Charcones Square is located in Navalcarnero, Madrid, Spain. Formerly in the rainy season, where now stands the square, large puddles were formed; ‘ Charcones ‘ in Spanish, that is why the place was baptized with that name. The place is quite spacious and apart from the use as a place of recreation, it is used as an outdoor cinema in summer. It is very close to the arena or Plaza de Toros Felix Colomo. Not far from the square, there is the Park ‘De los Charcones ‘ with an artificial lake and many green spaces.


The square is a good place to get some rest, if you visit the city on foot, there are benches to sit down but no so many trees in the shade so if the day is hot, you should better continue walking a little to rest directly in the park.

Saint Paul de Vence, Alpes-Maritimes, Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur, France

Saint Paul de Vence is a French commune in the Alpes-Maritimes region, Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur. The village stands on a rocky outcrop between the Maritime Alps and the Mediterranean, 26 km from Nice. At the time of François 1st, he ordered to raise the ramparts of the city (1544-1547) and we still find them there. There are several interesting places to visit such as the Cemetery of St-Paul de Vence where we find the tomb of Marc Chagall and St. Michael Chapel; the Collegiate Church of the Conversion of St-Paul (XII-XIII century); the Pontis (a passing above the High Street, dating from the fifteenth century); Seigneuriale tower that is currently the Mayor (at the church side), the Aqueduct of Moulins (that fed the mills of the town); the Local History Museum; the Chapel of the Holy Cross ((seventeenth century), among others.


It is a beautiful place to spend a quiet holiday and to know the history of the town and feel transported several centuries away.
It is also a place of art. The Maeght Foundation hosts temporary exhibitions and sculptures in situ in the park; you can visit the rooms and gardens.
There is another important famous place but visits; aren’t allowed; the Inn of the Pigeon of gold where there are works of great painters as Modigliani, Picasso, Braque, Chagall. among others. The place works as an inn and restaurant anyway.


Royal Palace of La Granja de San Ildefonso, Madrid, Spain

The Royal Palace of La Granja de San Ildefonso is one of the residences of the Spanish royal family, in the Sierra de Guadarrama, 13 km from Segovia and 80 km from Madrid. The name comes from an old farm of Hieronymite monks who were nearby. Henry III built the first refuge and Henry IV built a shelter and a small chapel dedicated to Saint Ildefonso Bishop and the Catholic Monarchs in 1477 gave it to the monks who used the rural place to pray and to rest giving origin to the village taking the same name. It was Philip II who converted it into a sumptuous palace. In 1718, Felipe V, in love with the place, bought it from the monks and built a palace like Versailles and its gardens. The palace became the summer residence of the Spanish king and his court. Felipe V and his second wife are buried in the collegiate church. Several important episodes in Spanish history took place in the palace. The palace and its addictions are in U-shaped and in its gardens there are trees that are over 300 years. There are two terraces and a chapel (the Collegiate Church of the Holy Trinity). Inside, the palace is deeply baroque with beautiful frescoed ceilings and gold painted wood moldings with imposing glass lamps.


The palace is open to the public. It is advisable to wear comfortable shoes to visit the gardens because it is worth it not only for its plants and flowers but also for its fountains and monuments. From Thursday Saint they put the fountains on work at 17:30 on Wednesdays, Saturdays, Sundays and public holidays. The eight large fountains are operated alternately, but on May, 30th, July, 25th and August, 25th they work all at once. You have to pay an entrance fee, but on August 25 the admission is free.